Hive and Hadoop Command Snippet search

Why? #

I’ve found myself looking up the “exact” syntax for DML / DDL in Hive countless times. Also, I tend to forget the list of date functions and parameters. I would use a combination of Google Search and/or a cheat sheet for these. These don’t work for me very well for multiple reasons (I’ll cover those is a separate post if enough people are interested). I wanted a no-frills snippet search tool but couldn’t find a good one for hadoop and hive. So I built my own.

Try it Out #

If you’re interested you can access the tool at www.greppage.com. The UI is very basic and I’ll appreciate your feedback.Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 7.28.29 AM.png

 
10
Kudos
 
10
Kudos

Now read this

How to compress Data in Hadoop

Hadoop is awesome because it can scale very well. That means you can add new data nodes without having to worry about running out of space. Go nuts with the data! Pretty soon you will realize that’s not a sustainable strategy… at least... Continue →